Rat Race Retirement

We all dream about the day  we can happily retire in a coastal village.  Greeting everyone as you pass them by,  because they are not just people but “your people” now,  and you know all of their stories because this is small town living.  Your days consists of   waking up without an alarm clock,  going for an early run or walk on the beach (conditions depending,  even a surf).  Going for a coffee at your local coffee shop,  greeting all the locals and chatting away about all that happened in the last 24 hours.  You sit back,  sip your coffee and switch on your laptop….as always looking at the weather / surf reports first to organise your day.

Being “retired” you will also suddenly have time to spend on starting,  or managing a small business (something you have always dreamt of doing).  Most probably a business that will make the world a better place because you are not chasing the illusive golden goose anymore.

I read a book a couple of years ago by Tim Ferris entitled the 4 hour work week.  This book set in motion what is now large aspects of my life.  I have always believed that living and enjoying life was possible,  and not only when we reach the age of 60 (probably more like 75 these days).

Reading motivational books (other people’s success stories) is usually something that inspires immediately,  wears of in 30 minutes and pretty soon you are back to thinking that some are just so damn lucky to live the way they do.  My “lucky break” came when I was retrenched:)  Nothing says ‘howzit’ (South African slang for an emphasized hello) better than a 100% pay cut.

Was the retrenchment my big shift…who knows.  What I do know 4 years later is that

1:  Life is shorter than we think.

2:  To much worry will kill you.

3:  Have faith in the “universe”,  others and yourself.

4:  Interact with nature.

5:  If your gut tells you to be good to others,  act on it! (Smiling counts)

I have to this day not made millions (I am not saying I won’t:)  But I wake up almost every morning without an alarm clock.  I go for a run / or a surf most mornings.  I go to my favorite coffee shop most days and greet locals I have not seen for 24 hours.  I sit back,  take my first sip of coffee and turn on my laptop.  I open my mail client,  but before I scan my inbox and sneak a peek at the weather charts,  I close my eyes and with the smell of coffee and the promise of a great day I quote Jerry,  “I love my wife and I love my life”.

I wish you my kind of happiness (most days).

One of my “office” locations

Categories: Fighting for Zen | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

