‘Awe’-ness (Howzit, Sick, Cool, Power, chill and agreement)

Being very new to the blogging world and community it seems fitting to open with Awe. A word that initially had very little meaning until 2 years ago. Now the mere sound of it shows something of how life can change and that what we initially thought to be extremely important disappears as we discover more and more where we are supposed to fit into the world and that big screen tv’s might not be a goal:)

The above I had to learn the hard way, and we can say that I will be “paying” for my indiscretions(tv’s) for some time in the future but from a different perspective.

I have found a new rhythm for my life (although I might miss a beat from time to time), you can say I am almost desperately fighting for zen on a daily basis and from time to time I almost “get it”.

I am tired of plastic (Cards, People, Bottles, Music, TV). I am however very much interested in people who are real. That live in the real world, that work in the real world and that dream in the real world. I want to form part of that community of people where we care more about “people” and nature than we care about our jobs and what we can buy with our jobs. I am sure I will on many occasions refer to “work” and I will be lambasted for my views;)  Do not get me wrong,  I myself am an entrepreneur and I also need a bit of “show me the money”.  It might even be conceivable that I make more money than I need,  and what a blessing this would be.  I am however not willing to sacrifice my freedom for ‘stuff’.

I am excited about this journey of blogging and hopefully inspiring and being inspired as we go along. Blogging for me is almost a way to keep myself, my ideas and my goals in check and on track because there are people who might find my life style interesting. Worse case scenario this might be a very good example of what not to do with your life:) To interact with like-minded people, to dream with like-minded people is what will hopefully bring change in all our lives.

It seems to be another semi spectacular day in the town that I call home. I went for an early morning run and what could be better than running on a cliff path meters from the ocean and seeing a baby whale calf not more than 2 meters away from you, bobbing up and down that close to the rocks. Suddenly what you thought was of utmost importance as you planned your day disappears and you are filled with peace, joy and a sense that the world will give back when you are present.

On the menu today is trying to convince companies that they should move away from paper and rather use mobile technologies to deliver information to clients. The waves are fairly non-existent, and this bodes well for my surfing progression. With a little bit of luck some snorkeling as well. Then spending some time on getting students to attend our “Kick Start your Gap Year 2013” in Hermanus(www.sparkshermanus.co.za) and last but not least if the weather plays along a braai with my wife and some chilled chardonnay.

YAWP

Categories: Fighting for Zen | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “‘Awe’-ness (Howzit, Sick, Cool, Power, chill and agreement)

  1. Nick

    Interesting…ek het tyd nodig om aan die een te kou voordat ek reply…

  2. great opening ~ welcome to the blogosphere! ~ Kat

  3. Claude

    Ja hey. wealth is enjoying whats for free.
    Claude

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

